Progress update – 3 months since finishing chemotherapy

I say 3 months since finishing chemo, but to be fair, it feels like cheating when taxol turned out to be such a breeze (at least as far as chemo goes, with my personal frame of reference being AC!), especially given my hair – very slowly – began growing around 4 weeks into taxol.   So let’s put it this way; it’s been 6 months since I finished AC and 3 months since I finished taxol – and therefore chemotherapy.

So, I meant to write this post 2 weeks ago for those who are following on behind me and keen to know my progress at the 3 month mark.   Do keep in mind I am still having herceptin every third Friday and of course on tamoxifen daily for oooooohh about the next half decade but hey outside of that, this is life after chemo 🙂

  • I now have short hair – no longer a blade anything, but enough that it is generally assumed I got my hair cut by those not in the know – it’s about one and a half inches, and definitely could be considered a pixie cut.  Of course everyone has decided my hair looks better like this than long.  But I am the judge and the jury and I am still out on that one 😉  Oh and in terms of chemo curls, I don’t think so, perhaps a little thicker though – and definitely a little grayer!
  • My emotions appear to be back in check somewhat.  After an initial post chemo battle with the blues, I began running again and it profoundly helped my mood.   It certainly isn’t all smooth sailing on the emotional front but overall I am in a pretty good place – particularly since deciding to embrace a new post cancer life reality (see post)
  • My boobs are now 4 weeks post the tissue expander exchange.  I am getting used to my new smaller, wider (what cleavage), higher set and eagerly awaiting the next stage – the nipple reconstruction.  In the meantime, I continue to embrace the temporary nipple tattoos, they are a winner (link)!    Actually I need to order more, in typically clumsy fashion I’ve damaged a couple along the way and I really don’t want to run out.  But I’m still wearing the damn band after the PS decided another 2 weeks couldn’t do any harm.  So over it, inevitably seem to rip it off half way through the night as I thrash around in discomfort.  Perhaps I should take on the project of producing comfortable post breast surgery strapping for fellow sufferers?!
  • Hot flushes/flashes continue.   They certainly aren’t as noticeable as they were in the first few weeks post chemo/starting tamoxifen.   But they are a right royal pain in the butt just the same!  They occur most when I am stressed or worried, which must be a few times a day/night….
  • Energy levels – I think they’re are pretty much back to normal.  I’ve always loved my sleep and that hasn’t changed.  My running times aren’t what they used to be but hey I figure if I can run 46.5km in a week 3 months after finishing chemo then I really can’t complain about my energy levels just the same.  Oh and I am about to start training for my first triathlon which happens at the end of October.  Scared!
  • My weight is back to pre chemo levels – hallelujah!  I did have to work at it though.  There were 5 kilos to deal with, which took some concentrated effort to begin with.  Once I resumed a more normal eating/exercise pattern though it became kind of effortless, just the way I like it!
  • Chemo-brain doesn’t seem to be an issue.  I can lack motivation at times work wise – but it’s more to do with ‘is this really so important’ than a lack of clear headedness me thinks
  • Fear of intimacy and lower sex drive are definite concerns.  Except they’re not because I haven’t got a partner or love interest at the moment.  Actually I went to a young women with BC support group to hear a sexologist speak yesterday which was pretty interesting.  Will blog separately about that laters!
  • Chemopause continues, am starting to fear it’s not chemopause but menopause 😦 shall keep you posted

Right so that about sums it up – hot flushes and slower running times are the biggest issues.   Let’s hope they have passed for my 6 month up date down the track 😉

5 thoughts on “Progress update – 3 months since finishing chemotherapy

  1. You continue to aspire me! I have up most admiration and love for your amazing strength and courage always…. The way you have handled your totally unexpected journey is truly full of spirit and determination… I still can never imagine what you have been through but for those unfortunate to go through a similar journey I have no doubt that you will find this girl just simply positive and amazing.

  2. Hi Yvette – How cute you look with your short hair! A little like Mia Farrow when she first cut her hair, back in the ’60s, and caused such a sensation in Hollywood!

    I read your post with much interest. I continue to be inspired by your spirit, your humor, your ability to share so candidly what has been such a tough journey for you. I am happy to see that progress is being made on all fronts! it is amazing how the passage of time heals, isn’t it? All of our sorrows, all of our grief and all of our fears are eased with time. You will be celebrating your one-year victory over breast cancer before you know it!

    On your comment about fear of intimacy, please don’t give up on yourself yet! You will meet a man, perhaps when you’re least expecting it, who will make you forget what you were afraid of. Of that, I am sure. Although you and I have never met, I feel like I know something about you from reading your blog, and I truly do not know how you won’t meet such a man! You are simply living life too fully now to not meet him! And, when you do, keep in mind what my friend Chris told me when I told him of my fear of being naked with a man ever again because of the scar across my chest. He said, very succinctly, “buy some sexy La Perla camisoles and stop worrying.” Good advice I think! Best, Jane

  3. Just saw your post. Thank you. I am post chemo but, pre surgery. I am scared and I have had many strange things happening to my body. Worse than that is that it really scarea me at the time it happens8ke tonight I suddenly felt really dizzy and had a strange metalic taste in my mouth and yet my bp was perfect. I dont know how to describe it and it was good to get your post. Thank you.

Leave a comment